The UNESCO Chair on Education for Sustainable Lifestyles was awarded to Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences in 2015 and renewed in 2019.

The UNESCO Chair on Education for Sustainable Lifestyles aims to promote an integrated system of research, training, information and documentation on education for sustainable lifestyles. It facilitates collaboration between high-level, internationally-recognized researchers and teaching staff of the University and other institutions in Norway, in Europe and North America, in Africa and in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as in other regions of the world. 

About Robert J. Didham

Robert J. Didham (Ph.D.) became the current holder of the UNESCO Chair on Education for Sustainable Lifestyles in 2021. He is also the director of CCL and an associate professor at Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences. With a background in community-based sustainable development, public participation and social learning, Robert has extensive experience in interdisciplinary research and capacity building projects. He has coordinated multi-country research on education for sustainable development, sustainable consumption, and adaptation planning, and he has led policy support projects for several national governments. Previously, Robert was the senior coordinator for capacity development and education at the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES), based in Japan, where he worked extensively throughout the Asia-Pacific region.

International Partner Network of the UNESCO Chair on ESL

Belgium - Strategic Design Studios Kazakhstan - The Regional Environmental Centre for Central Asia
Belgium - VIVES University of Applied Sciences Kenya - Kenyatta University
Chile - Actuemos Kenya - Youth Educational Network 
Colombia - El Bosque University Lithuania - Vytautas Magnus University 
Costa Rica - University of Peace, Earth Charter International Malaysia - Universiti Sains Malaysia, Regional Centre of Expertise Penang
Denmark - Aarhus University, Danish School of Education Malta - University of Malta
Finland - University of Helsinki, Department of Education Netherlands - Free Consumers Association
France - UNESCO Netherlands - Wageningen University and Research
France - UN Environment Norway - Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Germany - Leuphana University Lüneburg Norway - University of South-Eastern Norway 
Germany - Technical University of Berlin Portugal - Setubal College of Education 
India - Swechha We For Change Foundation Slovenia - University of Ljubljana
Ireland - Institute of Technology, Carlow  South Africa - Rhodes University, Environmental Learning Research Centre 
Ireland - St. Angelas College, Sligo Sweden - Uppsala University, Sustainability Learning and Research Centre
Japan - Institute for Global Environmental Strategies  Switzerland - International Environment Forum 
Japan - Okayama University, ESD Promotion Centre Zambia - University of Zambia, Lusaka

More information about the UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks

Published Apr. 28, 2022 8:59 AM - Last modified Aug. 4, 2022 2:20 PM